Old Tullylease National School

Built in 1868 in the townland of Knockatoumpane, we visited this boarded up school with some of it's past pupils, Nicholas Ring (1973, Mike Larkin (1960), Ben McMahon & Bertie Murphy (1957).


Glashabee National School

It was opened in the mid 1840’s and only some crumbling walls remain. Jeremiah Kelleher was the first principal. Other teachers to follow were-William Kelleher, Ina O Mullane, 1865 John Spillane  principal, Ina Nyhan, liza Holmes, 1899 Luke Tully Principal, Kate McSweeney.


Glenogue National School

Built in 1866 and was financially supported by the local Landlord the Newmans of Newberry Manor near Drommahane.


Lombardstown Tecnical School

This school was one of three rural technical schools in Duhallow area and owe their existence to the famous IRA leader Sean Moylan who was Minister for Education in the early 1950’s. The school opened in 1953 and closed in 1967.


Glantane National School

Opened in 1847 this school had a chequered history. In the mid-20th century the local community wanted to turn over a new leaf by building a new school. The Minister for Education at the time was the former IRA commander Sean Moylan.


Ballydesmond National School

Nora Herlihy attended National school in Ballydesmond. Her father served as the principal of the school.

The Model School in 2013 from the West

The Model School Limerick

This primary school opened in 1855 and has been key in the education of a large number of Limerick people.


Laharn National School

Laharn National School built in 1843 in the townland of Glouminane was the first national school built in the townland of Kilshannig in North Cork. It closed in 1996 and now serves as a community and heritage centre for the Laharn community.